Cooking with an amateur
Comment 1

French Toast Cravings

0116161038a.jpg

I know breakfast it said to be the most important meal of the day but regardless of that fact with most breakfast items being comprised of carbohydrates, sweets, and pork, I’d be a fool to skip it.

When I was around 9 years old the aroma of French toast early one morning lured me into a friendly neighbor’s house who graciously taught me how to make my first cooked meal ever. I continue to make it for myself when I want something more than your basic butter and toast. Similarly, another item I find simply irresistible are cinnamon buns. Of course I always end up guilt ridden knowing I consumed my daily calorie intake in one of those irresistibly gooey frosting topped buns.

Today was one of those days I was craving a good Cinnamon bun. I am not much of a baker so I decided to make an easy variation of French toast with the gooey cinnamon and frosting deliciousness I usually love in cinnamon buns.

Here is what you’ll need (but please feel free to substitute ingredients that you already have, I usually do)

Ingredients: (serving size: 4 French toast)

  • 2 cups of milk/almond milk
  • 2 whole eggs whipped
  • generous amount of cinnamon powder or to preference
  • 1 spoon full of vanilla extract
  • generous amount of fine sugar or to preference
  • 4 slices of wheat toast
  • butter or alternative butter

Frosting:

  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1 cup fine sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Recipe:

  1. Preheat oven at 375 F.
  2. Mix in a couple of teaspoons of cinnamon and vanilla extract into bowl.
  3.  In a non-stick pan heat up butter until it melts, medium heat is best.
  4. Take slice of bread and dunk into wet mixture until drenched.
  5. In a separate plate mix generous amount of cinnamon and sugar together.
  6. Take slice of drenched bread and cover it with cinnamon and sugar, then roll soaked bread into a pin wheel and place it in hot pan.
  7. Sear about 2-3 min per pin wheel sides, top French toast with additional sugar.
  8. Whip eggs in a bowl and mix in milk and whip once more.
  9. Place non-stick pan or other oven proof pan into oven and finish cooking French toast for 15 minutes.
  10. For frosting whip cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla extract well and top French toast when ready to eat.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

